Peaceful.

2005-07-18 3:41 p.m.

i have spent the last few weeks reassuring old commitments of their places, my arms can't measure the space that i have given, a smile in the direction of wrong doing

after all,
it's only my feelings

self-discipline, i opened all the windows and uncapped all the pens in my house, letting my limits go crossed by debris and bad timing, a thrity second section of life passed by me

and i awoke shivering, my prayerful forms in sleep prostrating, our heads to the carpet to listen

to the neighbors going at it again, a fight over his alcoholism, and these things are created, are shoulders sloping in restful acceptance

of life wearied heads - can we claim to know the potency of compliance, of unsent letters - one word can change a lifetime

so guard your tongue and name it Peaceful when you think to speak, there are sharp words waiting to scratch against the sheets in angry moments, to go forgotten, to remain unreached

pull over to the sidelines, i want to remember this. i want to remember how it happened. you know

i forget everything, that i put all of my effort into accumulating memories, into filling the closets only to make them off limits

after all, it's nothing to speak of.
after all, these are only my feelings.

rewind | fast forward