attempts.

2005-06-29 2:53 p.m.

brace my sides, i am
falling
over
muttering to myself in
the grocery store
with long haired adolescents looking on

don't tell me what you're thinking
i want to be alone
i want to be together

some action in his posture, a gentle sloping
and my hands start to wish that they could
wander there
one last time.

there is no strength in this.

carve my bones
to be identical to those
of great and innocent men
bury me within them

and let me rest, encircled by
your offhanded comments
your calloused sharp remarks

let me rest, concealed in
the bodies of my old friends
those friends i have forgotten

for the first time in years, i thought
of calling him
asking
how his family moved when he finally hit the edge

suicide and i, we go way back.
suicide and i, we are very intimate.

rewind | fast forward