this is the turn of events

2005-06-28 10:10 a.m.

come rest between the webbing of my fingers, splayed (what other way is there to show that i am open?)

i'll follow this line for a while, but eventually, i'll forfeit myself to other melodies, the family being, complete, i can't

do anything to help anyone, so i've gone home

this is the turn of events

signals, hastily sent between us, the full composure of defense, and here's protection, ready to shake its head, ready to show its teeth

in some sacred solitude, which will not take correction, which will not save the sacred, only shiver their spines

don't notice me, playing my face full of safety, hitting peaks and running empty, these last few lines were designed to keep me going, to pour some honesty down into my bones

i'll take the darkness of his stomach to be my own, and i'll wear his white ringed name about my wrist, i'll

pull the hospital sheets up over my head, giving up to give him some sense of justice, and all the parents will pull back their lips to show their teeth

so, everyone, search for acceptance in the midst of your panic, this affront was not meant for you, but you took it and its glory, you took it on as your own story, a lullaby to remember how you reacted

when lazarus was quietly resurrected.

rewind | fast forward