unturned stones.

2006-08-28 9:34 p.m.

here, no goodness in my breath, so long removed from living, i set in self-involvement, forget to stir my focus.
after only a few weeks without contribution, i become selfish, i pour
the earth into my stomach, as though
i could know its place. i know
nothing.

all i can hope now
is that my feet will learn from stumbling, and it will no longer matter
that i am blinded, fallen
from the framing that i once held.

.

i turned the right, the concept
of salvation
into something dirty, pestering my feet with
notice, and now
science skirts against me, little knowing
that my tune has taken a new line. i sing
about the joy of drowning, feel no weight on the surface, desire
large bodies of water to hold out their arms to me.

there is no other source that will accept me as i am, unable to wash clean, foreign terrained and lacking, confused by the sights i have not seen, by assumptions on my meaning.

i dream days out on airplanes, catch glimpses of clouds coming back, recycling back to the surface, the places where i have lived
now reflect that i was empty, little undone wanting, hurtful, hard-skinned child, unkind, unaccustomed to kindness, now reflect that i sought out

other filling. science skins my knees, catches me clung
to tree branches, my fertility
a threat, my mouth a hindrance to me. i do not know
how to speak without some other speaking, how to move
without the direction of my action. come to me

good universe that moves so orderly, line up with my tuning, teach again
that knowledge that i carried when beginning -
i am ready, maybe,
to be reopened.

.

little leaves, their comfort branches
sigh the trees, make mention
that i have been here.

little thing, strange body,
learn the walk to peace, and be again graceful.
learn that i can't see.

i will be faithful, following
the order you rely on, i will
be empty.

i am ready to
be guided.

rewind | fast forward