passage.

2006-08-27 2:45 a.m.

soft. soft. give
skin away in layers. leave bits and pieces
in places newly recovered. blades of grass. fighting examples. conversations
rehad, but i am a poor speaker. lead too quick, step
out of order, forget
the reason for beginning.
i begin,
start over, raise the dead, or simply
misrepresent, maybe to the fault of my emotions.

hindrance here, a sense of caution, all gone
to being sinister, to being faulty - i have been felt, gravitated
toward definition, would not be named, though
naming would be easy.

i am clandestine, trying to keep the sacred. i open
my mouth, and the rivers flow out of me, my mistakes, piled up too early, now betray, give way
in light of what is coming,

but what came? no holy ghost, no weather, soft hope
set down to linger, called me, symbolic, without answer, and i
delayed, moved closer to my center, set pace
with what had already happened, stayed up late, and then fell back
to my paper.

rewind | fast forward