perception.

2006-07-23 12:21 p.m.

for all the years i've counted, i live
slow and steady, spread
thin over the summer, preaching to my bones
minimization, calling my hands
to seek out their own homes, to seperate, to soldier forward.

the impact dies back, is replaced
by short sentences, by
physical exchanges, by money
moving into something better, our communal present makes investment, finds me
hidden
underneath the portions i can manage, finds me blind
for all the times i have been tigh-fisted, and i am ashamed

to write this letter, to keep the power going, to be removed, to be rejected, to be firm, to stretch
my skin for drying, and for all the work wound in me, i will be
forgotten to the ocean, to the tides i have begged into turning, to the seasons that outwit me, keep me stranded.

i am unready, but i am small, easily
changed, directionless. i am done up with preparing, full fed on my choices, watching
the sun unfold into the brightness - the adjectives
catch hands, gain ground before they're silenced, but i am unattached, wound up
for all the world inside me.

rewind | fast forward