old friends.

2006-05-17 12:31 p.m.

i've faltered on my side of this fence, to keep the distance
correct
in case you felt like crossing back
calling up
hellos and how have you beens

so conversations garnered our faces, set them long and thin, and i asked you some questions
about what you were doing
and if you were upset

and you said nothing
and you said you were happy.

i throw my hands out
at collecting new friends (you were
always disappointed in me
that i didn't)
but it hurts with a history i cannot command, and i duck down and draw back

and i hide in my home.

what good are friendships if this is how they end, you telling me
that everything is still perfect, that we can still be close
without confidence
and me leaving early because i am blessed with a purpose
given to earning

ridiculed for it.

don't claim me by my actions, i have waited
silent
for that new love of yours to be open, and i have held
my breathing steady, baited.

your affirmation accounts me, carries me out and finds me lacking, and i have no one to say this toward.

confession.
end statement.

rewind | fast forward