assumption.

2006-08-15 10:09 a.m.

all of my goodness discredited, i am left
to attend to these loose ends, unwitting, placed
outside of information.

to pass this test, i faltered and i fainted, did not
eat or sleep, gave up twenty four hours
to reckoning,
winning myself back over.

i will not be bought in to social opinion, will hang on
steadfast, in the good that i have known, the good i have invested.

i will lay the ocean back to being only water, and i will let the moon rise without putting myself upon it, but
we are not stars, are not distant bodies - we will be forced
to live in equal spaces, or you will have to put space right in between us.

no emergency in my blood, all in others, all misunderstood for what i might have wanted. done with wanting, i furl my sails and hope to meet the beaches. unsupported, criticized, i hope the land will take me to it.

i was not meant for sailing, for sustaining hope in what i might be, i was meant for holding fast and hard
to what cuts me, to what is always certain,
to what is constantly steady.

rewind | fast forward