hymns.

2006-05-23 11:01 p.m.

hymnal skinned, i stepped
retracing those lines that once sought to claim me,
and
summer fed,
i wrapped those lines around me,
told them stories that i had meant for keeping.

street heavy, straight
and narrowly rejoicing in successes, i made
my way
one of constant crisis, and my name
became synonomous
with voices raised

with teeth prepared for bearing.

each sound, carried up in season, meant my wits would not be met, would not be measured, and each gasp for breath

each open question

was as close as i could get
to being human. resound these regrets
i have no motives, no way to be saved
no holy graces
and i am sure afraid
and i am sure resentful

of all the prices paid
only to relinquish
the power of that great hope, the fire of the faith,

the hallelujah greatful, the safety from the grave.

rewind | fast forward